Brandea and her twin standing in front of plants and a large guitar.

Meet Our Neighbors: Brandea Turner

Meet the manager of the Fred Rogers Productions Writers' Neighborhood!

Describe your role at Fred Rogers Productions.

I have the privilege of managing FRP Writers’ Neighborhood, a career development and mentoring program for emerging BIPOC writers. I oversee the daily logistics – the application and selection process, organizing the in-person and virtual workshops, and the implementation of the program. I love helping coach the writers and seeing them grow as a result of going through the fellowship.

Tell us about yourself and how your career led you to work in children’s television.

I’m a native of Pittsburgh and an identical twin. I’ve always loved the arts, culture, and entertainment sector, which led me to study music business/management as an undergraduate and arts, entertainment, and media management in graduate school – I want to run the show instead of being the show. I like helping talented, creative people shine. I’ve worked in digital production in the music industry, managed front of house at various performing arts centers, and ran an arts internship program at an Ivy League college before boomeranging back to my hometown to work at FRP. Children’s media is a new world for me, but I was so excited at the opportunity to expand my knowledge and manage a pilot program that I hope will ultimately make a positive impact on kids and families. Plus, I like launching new initiatives.

What was your favorite TV show when you were growing up? 

Growing up I liked watching TV more than reading. I loved learning life lessons and exploring how other people lived through TV programs. While I enjoyed watching Sesame Street (I had a cousin who made a guest appearance on the show), I also liked watching Spider-Man after school, Saturday morning cartoons, and TGIF shows such as Family Matters, Full House, and Boy Meets World.

What do you like most about working at Fred Rogers Productions?

I like working with smart, kind people. It’s great to work in a collaborative, team-focused environment.

What do you like to do when you’re not working? 

I enjoy hanging out with my twin sister and family. I like listening to music, watching TV, going to the movies, taking long walks and bike rides (when it’s warm outside), and traveling. I’ve been to 32 states but want to check all 50 states off my list. Also, I really want to explore Europe and Australia.

Favorite summertime activity?

I love going to free outdoor concerts and good ice cream.