Family standing near a beach.

Meet Our Neighbors: Alan Friedman

Alan has been at Fred Rogers Productions for over 14 years and is our director of institutional giving. Learn more about Alan below!

Describe your role at Fred Rogers Productions.

I identify potential funders, primarily foundations, and help them understand how meaningful it can be to support FRP, how together we can make a huge difference in the lives of children and families. Internally, I get to help colleagues dream big about what we want to accomplish and how we’re going to get there.

Tell us about yourself and how your career led you to work in children’s television.

I grew up in Pittsburgh, majored in English at Berkeley, and then held a mish-mash of jobs including not only teaching preschool but also driving a recycling truck, waiting tables in a jazz club, and freelance-writing for newspapers and magazines. I began doing education-focused fundraising as a grant-writer at Carnegie Mellon, but Fred Rogers’ values have always meant the world to me, so I jumped at the chance to join FRP and focus again on young children.

What do you like most about working at Fred Rogers Productions?

I love getting to work with such an amazing group of people. Creative, hard-working, caring, and really funny. We’re committed to our work and to each other.

What was your favorite TV show when you were growing up?

Growing up with two significantly older brothers messed with my taste in TV. When I should have been watching Mister Rogers and Sesame Street, I think my favorites were Batman and Speed Racer. Also, we lived in a strange spot between hills where there was no ABC reception, and it took my parents forever to get cable. I still need to watch The Love Boat and Fantasy Island.

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

I seem to hang out a lot with my wife, Jen, in our kitchen, wondering what we should make for dinner. Apart from that, I love spending time with our two daughters, Ally and Emma, and our dog, Milo. I also love dancing (a lot of salsa and bachata lately), playing piano, biking, yoga, and reading (mostly as cover for taking a nap).